One Holiday at a Time, Please

I don’t care what you say, the beginning of the Christmas holiday doesn’t start until December. Or maybe the last week of November, once Thanksgiving has had its deserved time in the limelight. In fact, I’m proclaiming a new rule of thumb: Christmas decorations don’t go up until you’ve digested the pumpkin pie.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas and everything it stands for; I love the decor, the twinkling lights, the way the world just looks more cheery donned in red ribbon and garland. In fact, Christmas is my favorite holiday, and I am itching to celebrate this most wonderful time of the year. Even so, I just can’t get into red and green decorations in November or, horrors, even October. It just doesn’t seem right – carving the turkey with a Santa hat on. Here we are brushing past the pilgrims with little more than a passing glance just so we can spend more time with Rudolph and his crew. While I’m all for celebrating the purpose of Christmas year round, I have a feeling that’s not necessarily the department stores’ motives when they start hanging tinsel the minute summer ends. I mean, do we really need Christmas decorations on display for a quarter of the year? Have we become such a fast-paced, high-gear society that we can’t wait for one national holiday to run its course before flying into a frenzy over the next?

To each his own, and if you want to put your Christmas decorations up in August I’m not going to stop you, but personally, I can only handle one holiday at a time.

Who’s with me?!

Tagged

3 thoughts on “One Holiday at a Time, Please

  1. Sharon says:

    Melissa, I totally agree with you. See you soon!

  2. Tori Nelson says:

    I can’t stand it! I was actually tempted to knock down the ornament display in Target yesterday… on accident, of course :)

  3. Anonymous says:

    Totally agree – Thanksgiving is so much about family and friends and I want to be able to enjoy it,

What do you think?

