The Hangout 2011

You just can’t go wrong when combining live music and sandy, white beaches. And this, my friends, is what makes picking my favorite memories from the 2011 edition of The Hangout Beach, Music, and Arts Festival so difficult. But I’ll give it a shot.

Favorite show: Avett Brothers. I love them everywhere, and that includes on the beach. They played some of my favorites just as the sun was setting, and it was lovely. Their encore introduced me to the appropriately titled song, At the Beach, and I have been singing it ever since.

Favorite morning: That would be a tie between the morning of my sunrise run and the morning when my condo-mates and I set out early to play games on the beach before the festival. In the span of a couple hours, we managed to play bean bag toss, volleyball monkey-in-the-middle, frisbee monkey-in-the-middle, and frolic in the ocean.

Favorite ride: In a burst of randomness, my ladies and I decided to hop on one of those amusement ride towers that slowly takes you higher and higher into the sky (stunning view of the ocean, I might add), holds you there until you can’t stand it, and then drops you in a terrifying plummet that makes your stomach fly into your throat. I love that feeling.

Favorite dance party: Girl Talk. As is always the case with Girl Talk, we danced our faces off. Only complaint: we were lucky enough to get inside the tent for the show, but the lack of airflow was nearly suffocating. By the time the traditional closing song came on, we were all ridiculously sweaty messes. Luckily, this was easily remedied by jumping in the pool at our condo and listening to The Black Keys, which was blissfully refreshing.

And that is only scratching the surface. There’s much, much more, and if you are lucky, I may even post about it. The weekend was sheer awesomeness, and I thank all of the people who made it such a blast!

Tagged

What do you think?

