Save Memphis Kickball

Just a bit ago, I received an email from one of my kickball buddies with the following announcement:

“As most of you know, the City of Memphis is having some major budget problems. We’ve just learned that Rec Athletics is on the table as one of the items to potentially be cut. This would eliminate all athletics city-wide… starting with the fall season of Kickball.”

Seeing that I’m a newcomer to the kickball arena and currently playing on my first team, I drafted a little note to the City of Memphis, which I have copied below:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have recently been informed that Rec Athletics is in danger of being cut from the City of Memphis’ budget. While I understand there are many items that demand your aid and attention, I would like to heavily advocate for the preservation of city-wide athletic programs.

Maintaining city-wide athletics provides many benefits to the Memphis community. These sports are not just about competitiveness and fun; they are much more than that. They give the citizens of Memphis an outlet for joining together in a constructive and wholesome way that reflects positively on our city. They allow us to participate in activities that are designed to improve our health, foster friendships with others, and encourage unity over something that increases Memphis’ appeal. We are proud that the City of Memphis provides this opportunity.

This is my first year to play in the Memphis Kickball League, and game night is already one of my favorite nights of the week. I enjoy being part of a team and welcome the challenge of learning a new skill (and the chance to laugh with my teammates over my blunders).  I’m not a superstar, but that’s not the point. The point is that playing kickball is emotionally, physically, and corporately rewarding. Please, I implore you, don’t take it away from us.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For more information, please visit the Memphis Kickball League’s website by clicking on their logo below.

Tagged

What do you think?

