Why I Love My Kindle

For Christmas, I received a Kindle, and I am smitten.

At first I was unsure how well the Kindle and I would get along, as I am a lover of books. Tangible books made of paper and ink, with that distinct book smell and pages that turn and invite you to highlight and make notes on them. A Kindle doesn’t allow you to dog ear your page to mark your spot, and you can’t scribble notes in the margin. These things worry me.

But now that I’ve had a chance to get acquainted with my dear Kindle, I’ve discovered some great features that hold a lot of merit. The benefits outweigh the negatives, and although my Kindle will never fully replace my affinity for books, it is certainly a welcome addition to my reading world.

Exercise. The Kindle is extra handy when it comes to treadmill and cycling activity. I’m one of those freaks of nature that is capable of reading and running at the same time, and the Kindle makes this easier than ever. In the past, I’ve had to contend with pages refusing to stay down, and even with those little plastic book holders, they still get ornery and insist on flipping at will. Not with a Kindle. With the Kindle, you just push a button, and voilà, the page turns at your command.

Accessibility. I am craaaaazy about bookstores. I adore spending carefree hours browsing the shelves of a bookstore, looking for nothing in particular, just being surrounded by books. But the problem with this is that you have to actually be at a bookstore to enjoy one, and that requires time. And extra time is something that I do not have in abundance. The Kindle lets me browse through thousands of e-books at my leisure, even when I don’t have time to carve out a bookstore visit. I can purchase a book and have access to it within seconds.

Consolidation. I am typically reading four or more books at one time, which makes for quite a lot of luggage to carry around on a typical day. Now, thanks to my Kindle, the majority of my reading material is stored in one place, and I can easily switch from book to book at the click of a button. Not only that, but the Kindle saves my place in each book. A virtual bookmark! This means I can easily read verses in the Bible, the next page of my 365-day devotional, a few chapters of Pride and Prejudice, work literature, and dozens of other books with the utmost convenience.

Inexpensive. Furthermore, all of the books I mentioned, plus many more, are free. There are ever-changing lists of free books for download on the Kindle. Good ones, too! Ones you would actually spend money to read. Except now you don’t have to! In the span of 8 minutes, and I promise this is true, I selected 17 free e-books to download. How cool is that?! And the books that aren’t free are almost always discounted.

And that’s only the beginning. The Kindle also has Internet access, the ability to read to you, and a screen that is easy on the eyes.

Yes, my Kindle and I have become good friends, indeed.

Tagged

What do you think?

