Tigers vs. Lucero

Based on the lack of traffic this morning, I think it’s safe to assume that I’m one of the few Memphians working today. But I’m unphased by this because tonight, my friends, tonight my Tigers play their biggest home game of the season AND my favorite band will be rocking the stage at Minglewood Hall. Win, win (we hope).

For several weeks, this scheduling conflict has caused much inner turmoil and wavering: Why oh why do they have to be on the same day? Which event shall I choose? How can I possibly miss the Georgetown game, to which I already have tickets? And yes, I’ve seen Lucero upwards of 50 times, but that doesn’t change how much I need to be at this show. And Cory Branan is opening; it’s been months since I’ve seen him.

Oh, the dilemma.

But now, I am simply choosing to embrace it. This night is too good and too full of possibility to approach it any other way. Although I will most likely be missing Cory Branan’s opening performance and the beginning  of Lucero, how can I not be one of the 20,000+ fans in the FedEx Forum screaming my face off for a Tiger victory? Considering that I’ve seen Cory and Lucero a ridiculous amount of times, I’ve decided this basketball game is too important to pass up. It pains me to miss even a second of the music, but I bleed blue, so this is the decision I’ve made, and I’m sticking to it.

So the plan is this: Enjoy the Tigers game. Rush to Minglewood Hall. Find that Cory and Ben didn’t want to start without me, and enjoy the full show.

In my dreams.

Let’s try this again: Arrive at Minglewood, join the friends, and jump in mid-show without missing a beat. A tolerable scenario, I’ll take it!

Tagged ,

One thought on “Tigers vs. Lucero

  1. Wade says:

    see you in 11 hours!

What do you think?

