I’m Running a Marathon

It’s official. I have decided to participate in the ultimate running challenge: the full marathon. This December, I’ll be taking on 26.2 miles of pavement in the St. Jude Marathon, and I am so excited for the training, the challenge, and the accomplishment of it all. Rather than make this all about me though, I want my efforts to achieve something bigger and more worthwhile. Thus, I am running as a St. Jude Hero, which means I’ve committed to raising money on behalf of the beautiful children at St. Jude. My fundraising efforts will directly support the work of St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in finding cures and saving the lives of children fighting cancer and other catastrophic diseases.

St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital is one of the world’s premier pediatric cancer research centers, with children from all 50 states and around the world benefitting from their research and treatment. St. Jude shares its research freely with the global medical community, and families never pay for treatments that are not covered by insurance. No child is ever denied treatment because of a family’s inability to pay.

A group of my dear friends and I have created a team, titled Miles for Smiles, in order to raise money for this cause.  I have witnessed the tragedy of cancer firsthand, and I hate it. I have committed to personally raising $1,000 of the $4,000 our team has pledged to raise, and I need your help! I would be deeply grateful for your support and contribution to this honorable cause.  Please make a donation to support my efforts for St. Jude and join the fight against childhood cancer. No matter how small the denomination, every bit will help and serve as encouragement as I train for this endeavor.

Please visit my St. Jude Hero donor webpage and share the wealth! Thank you so much for your support!

Tagged

One thought on “I’m Running a Marathon

  1. Jax says:

    Truly awesome. Both the fact that you are running 26 miles and the support for the cause. I’m donating right now.

What do you think?

