Tendonitis and Overwork

This is the diagnosis my doctor at Campbell Clinic gave me after hours of prodding, stretching, and x-raying my grotesquely swollen right knee. Despite the fact that I am told the next time I run I will only be capable of a tenth of a mile, this is the best outcome I could have hoped for. I do not have to forego running forever, only temporarily.

Tendonitis refers to the inflammation, swelling, and irritation of tendons in the knee area. Unfortunately, once tendons have been damaged in such a way as I am experiencing, they are weak and much more susceptible to injury than before. This is not good news. My workouts are more often than not intense; bootcamp and running, that’s what I do. Weak tendons will likely not be able to tolerate the strenuous impact and exertion of this variety, at least not for a while. I am not one to take things sitting down, therefore I will work as hard as I can to overcome my injury, yet be smart and careful to not further put my health in danger.

Knee tendonitis

What does all of this mean for me?

1) I am optimistic but not unrealistic of my athletic capabilities. I am desperate to resume my normal activities, but realize that this goes with the territory of being a runner, and I will accept it for what it is. Working out has always been a natural and understood part of my day, and not doing so is foreign to me. Although I am very limited with what exercises I can do, I will say my trusty hand weights are coming in most useful….

2)  Not going out running or to the gym before and/or after work drastically frees up my time (and increases my hours of sleep). I am determined to use this time to partake in activities I previously did not have time for, such as cooking. Last night was dill salmon and mixed vegetables. Yum. These extra hours allow me to be crafty, creative, studious, and productive in areas that I previously was not.

3) I am sure that the Lord is trying to teach me something through this experience, and I whole-heartedly believe He is telling me to sloooooow down. Anyone who knows me knows that I am constantly moving one hundred miles per hour, cramming as many things into one day as physically possible. I know there is a need for relaxation and reflection, and that is exactly where I have been placed.

4) My family and friends have made every effort to make my immobility as comfortable as possible. As much as I don’t want to be this clumsy and un-self-sufficient forever, it is quite nice to be reminded that I am worth the hassle and inconvenience. Thanks, loved ones!

5) My injury may or may not change my upcoming running plans and vacations, and I’m ok with that. I am flexible and adaptable, and I will take these challenges in stride. Instead of being disappointed with this turn of events, I will look for new opportunities and open doors. That is the beauty of life.

To everything (turn, turn, turn) there is a season (turn, turn, turn) and a time to every purpose, under Heaven.

Tagged

One thought on “Tendonitis and Overwork

  1. Jordan deFlon says:

    Hey Melissa! Long time no see! I saw this on facebook and wanted to let you know I had something really similar happen to me about 8 months or so ago. I think I did it doing Zumba. I went to physical therapy for a couple weeks (which didn’t do much) and took it easy for about 2 months before gradually building back up to a full workout. If you have more questions, def. let me know. It was such a pain, but thankfully, it feels much better, and the pain now is very minimal and usually just after a tough workout.

    Hope you’re doing well!

    Jordan

What do you think?