Run for the Red

Undeterred by the arctic temperatures outside, I will be running my first 5k of the year this Saturday afternoon, which could prove to be disastrous. How so, you may ask? Just weeks after running the St. Jude Half Marathon in December of 2008, I was diagnosed with exercised-induced asthma. This frustrating condition kept me out of my running shoes for most of 2009, save the occasional attempt that left me wheezing, light-headed, and fighting to breathe. Unfortunately, running in cold temperatures increases the chance of an attack, which brings us back to why this race just might take my breath away, literally.

Despite the aforementioned obstacles, I am determined to get myself back in the racing scene this year. And this is where the annual Run for the Red 5k comes into play. The Mid-South American Red Cross has teamed up with the Fire Museum to host a race set for January 9th in downtown Memphis at 4:00, and I will be there in full running gear (and hand warmers!).

If you would like to register and join me and my lovely friend Mere in supporting their life-saving work, we always enjoy new running buddies!

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Run for the Red

  1. Jordyn Matthews says:

    Hi- I am so glad you posted about this race. The company I work for, cs2advertising, has been in charge of the promotion for the race, and I am curious to know how you found out about it. Through the website, radio, Facebook, etc.?

    Once again, thank you so much for spreading the word on the race. It supports an amazing cause here in the Memphis community and surrounding region.

  2. Hi Jordyn, I’m always happy to help promote great causes in our community, it’s one of the primary reasons I blog! I am a member of the Memphis Runners Track Club and saw the race on their event calendar ~~~> http://www.memphisrunners.com/, which led me to do a little research on the Mid-South Red Cross website. Looking forward to the run on Saturday!

  3. Mere says:

    Yay! Can’t wait, Mel!

What do you think?

