mellifluous

mel*lif*lu*ous [muh-lif-loo-uh s]– adjective 1. Sweetly or smoothly flowing; sweet-sounding 2. Flowing with honey; sweetened with or as if with honey.

I feel like this word was made specifically for me. 

After college, my friends took it upon themselves to shorten my name from Melissa to Mel. Originally I thought it was too masculine and didn’t care for it, but over the years I have embraced it. It has become a running joke among our crew to cleverly incorporate my name into common expressions, such as smelly Melly (after a sweaty workout), peanut butter and Melly, Jack-o-Melon, the mind of a Melephant, and, according to my boyfriend, on a scale of one to ten, I’m a Meleven.

So the fact that mellifluous starts with my signature three letters immediately attracted me to it. In addition, Melissa means honey bee, and the etymology of mellifluous is as follows:  from Latin, mellifluus (“flowing like honey”), from mel (“honey”) + fluo (“flow”). Bonus points. And if that’s not enough, the word mellifluous is often used to describe a person’s writing style. How perfect!

Combine this fitting synchronicity with my initials, MMM (the 3M girl, M3, M-cubed, Triple M, M&M), and there you have the story of how http://www.mmmellifluous.wordpress.com came to be.

Tagged

3 thoughts on “mellifluous

  1. minda papson says:

    i love, love, LOVE this! you are 1 beautiful person and you have a distinctly ‘mel’ way of doing everything…and i will look forward to reading your day-to-day : )

  2. […] If you are in the dark as to why this would tickle me so, please allow me to direct you to this insight for expanation. What a beautiful beginning to this already wonderful day. I just love days when […]

  3. […] Melerella, and if they want to talk, they just call me on the Melephone. If you are lost, read this post  to get up to […]

What do you think?

