Did the Beatles say it best?

The love you take is equal to the love you make.

Did the Beatles really say it best 40 years ago with the closing lyrics of Abbey Road? We live in a world that is me-centric. Please me, love me, give me, want me, appease me, humor me, notice me, compliment me, entertain me. But what if we were to pop our bubbles of self-absorption and adopt the mentality that ME is not the center of all things created, and that we have a whole lotta love to share. The more you actively love your environment, your neighbors, your family, your friends, strangers, acquaintances, and anyone else your day places in front of you, the more abundant and blessed your life will ultimately be.  It’s not necessarily the people you are bestowing love on who will reciprocate, but somewhere, someone, or even something, will tickle your heart and remind you of the fulfillment that comes with benevolent, selfless love.  It seems the rocking quartet may have been on to something after all. 

So go spread the love! I suspect it will find its way back to you…

Tagged ,

One thought on “Did the Beatles say it best?

  1. P Buck says:

    I have found a fun exercise for changing your perspective on the way you treat others. Pretend that the most random person, like a bum on the street, is actually a time-travelling version of yourself come back to your time. Then you will really think differently about spreading the love.

What do you think?

